You are here

About OPL

Ottawa Public Library (OPL) serves a national capital city of more than one million residents. OPL is the largest bilingual (English/French) public library system in North America. OPL offers access to information and services through 33 physical branches, a robust virtual channel (BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca) as well as three bookmobiles (two full-sized and one mini), a home delivery service for customers unable to visit in person, and a vending machine-style lending library service at one location. OPL is the second largest public library system in Ontario, Canada’s most populous province. 

Vision, mission & values

OPL’s vision is to build community and transform lives; our mission is to inspire learning, spark curiosity, and connect people; our core values are Community, Inclusion, Integrity, Intellectual Freedom, and Literacy. Notably, intellectual freedom is a cornerstone tenet that underpins the Library’s role as a curator of information and a champion of information literacy. OPL supports intellectual curiosity and enquiry as well as the free and open exchange of lawful information and ideas in a democratic society, respecting individuals’ rights to privacy and choice. OPL is a shared public service, part of the cultural, educational and community fabric of the nation’s capital city.

Services

OPL’s Service Delivery Framework includes three service channels: virtual, facility, and mobile, through which OPL delivers five categories of service: collections, expertise, programs, spaces, and tools. 

Collections

OPL has a collection of more than 1,851,000 physical and digital items. The collection provides the foundation for literacy, cultivating the joys of reading, learning, exploring and creating for all ages. OPL’s collection contains English, French, Indigenous and other world languages. The OPL collection includes multiple formats, both to provide equitable access to individuals with disabilities, and to provide a wide range of digital content such as eBooks, eAudiobooks, streaming (for film, television, music), high-calibre online learning tools, as well as reference and research databases. Of the more than 1.8 million collections, 72 per cent are books. However, OPL also lends musical instruments (banjo, guitar, keyboard, mandolin, percussion, ukulele, violin), telescopes, access passes to museums and parks, and other items for public use.

Expertise

Library staff, including librarians, library technicians, and other experienced employees support information and literacy needs of customers through Reader’s Advisory (knowledgeable reading recommendations), assistance with research, support for technologies including eReaders, hardware, and software, creative spaces and resources, as well as through management of cardholder accounts, etc.

Programs

OPL creates cultural, creative and literacy programming that helps customers explore the depth and variety of resources in the collection, and hosts events that connect people, spark curiosity, and meet diverse community needs. Check out OPL's event listings

Spaces

OPL provides access to defined areas for customer use such as reading spaces, seating, reference areas, zones for children, teens, and/or seniors. There are also areas where specific collections, tools, or furnishings are made available to customers. OPL provides creative spaces and tools such as a maker space called Imagine Space, and a digitization lab with music editing and VHS conversion stations.

Tools

OPL provides equipment or technology for use on-site. Tools range from everyday essentials (such as photocopying and printing) to new technologies for learning and experimentation. A prime example is the creative technology at OPL’s maker space, which includes 3D printing and modelling, laser cutting, audio-video editing, green screen and video gear, hand tools and electronics, a wall-to-wall whiteboard, and more.

Fun facts

  • OPL has a service area of 2,700 km2
  • The longest distance between branches is 88 kilometers between Vernon and Fitzroy Harbour
  • OPL was the first to provide publicly-accessible Wi-Fi in Ottawa (in 2008), well before Tim Hortons (2012) or Starbucks (2010) introduced it across Canada!

  • The Ottawa Room’s collection includes over 1,200 maps, from 1856 to the present
  • ‘Reading’ a book is offered in many forms at OPL: in print, as an audiobook, as an eBook, in Braille or in picture format.
  • Thirteen branches are located in or beside recreational City buildings:
    1. Beaverbrook (John Mlacak Recreation Centre)
    2. Constance Bay (Constance/Buckham's Bay Recreation Centre)
    3. Cumberland (Ray Friel Recreation Centre)
    4. Fitzroy Harbour (Fitzroy Harbour Recreation Centre)
    5. Greely (Greely Community Centre)
    6. Greenboro (Greenboro Recreation Centre)
    7. Metcalfe (Larry Robinson Arena and Metcalfe Community Centre)
    8. North Gloucester (Splash Wave Pool)
    9. Osgoode (Stuart Holmes Arena and Osgoode Community Centre)
    10. Rockcliffe Park (Rockcliffe Park Recreation Centre)
    11. Ruth E. Dickinson (Walter Baker Sports Centre)
    12. St-Laurent (St-Laurent Complex)
    13. Vanier (Richelieu Vanier Recreation Centre)

You are here

À propos de la BPO

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa (la BPO) sert la population d’une ville – la capitale nationale – de plus d’un million de résidents. Elle représente le plus important réseau de bibliothèques publiques bilingues (français et anglais) en Amérique du Nord. La BPO offre l’accès à de l’information et à des services par l’intermédiaire de 33 succursales physiques; en mode virtuel, grâce à un site robuste (BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca); et au moyen de trois Bibliobus (deux de taille standard et un minibus), d’un service de livraison pour la clientèle qui ne peut se déplacer et d’un service de prêt sous forme de machine distributrice dans l’un de ses emplacements. La BPO est le deuxième plus grand réseau de bibliothèques publiques en Ontario, la province la plus populeuse du Canada.

Vision, mission et valeurs

La vision de la BPO consiste à créer une collectivité et à transformer des vies; sa mission vise à donner le goût d’apprendre, à éveiller la curiosité et à rapprocher les gens; et ses valeurs fondamentales sont la communauté, l’inclusion, l’intégrité, la liberté intellectuelle et la littératie. La liberté intellectuelle en particulier est un principe clé qui ancre la Bibliothèque dans son rôle de gardienne de l’information et de défenseure de l’éducation à l’information. La BPO valorise la curiosité intellectuelle et le désir d’apprendre ainsi que le libre échange d’informations et d’idées licites dans une société démocratique, dans le respect du droit à la vie privée et au choix. En somme, la BPO est un service public partagé inscrit dans le tissu culturel, éducatif et communautaire de la capitale nationale.

Services

La prestation des services de la BPO a un cadre décisionnel distingue trois modes de services, soit le mode virtuel, le mode en personne et le mode mobile, par lesquels la BPO offre cinq catégories de service : collection, expertise, programmes, espaces et outils.

Collection

La BPO possède une collection de plus de 1 851 000 articles physiques et numériques. La collection de la BPO fournit les assises nécessaires à la littératie et cultive le plaisir de la lecture, de l’apprentissage, de l’exploration et de la créationpour tous les âges. La collection de la BPO se compose d’environ des articles en anglais, en français et en langues autochtones et autres langues du monde. La collection de la BPO comprend de multiples formats, offrant à la fois un accès équitable aux personnes en situation de handicap et un grand éventail de contenu numérique, notamment des livres numériques, des livres audionumériques, de la lecture en continu (films, télévision, musique), des outils d’apprentissage en ligne de grande qualité, ainsi que des bases de données de référence et de recherche. Parmi le 1,8 million d’articles, 72 pour cent sont des livres. Cela dit, la BPO prête aussi des instruments de musique (banjo, guitare, clavier, mandoline, percussions, ukulélé, violon), des télescopes, des laissez-passer de musée et de parc et d’autres articles que le public peut utiliser.

Expertise

Le personnel de la bibliothèque, qui comprend des bibliothécaires, des techniciens en documentation et d’autres employés d’expérience, répond aux besoins d’information et de littératie de la clientèle en offrant une aide aux lecteurs (suggestions de lecture éclairées); une aide à la recherche; un soutien technique, notamment pour les liseuses, le matériel informatique et les logiciels; des ressources et des espaces de création; des services de gestion des comptes pour les titulaires de carte, et bien d’autres services.

Programmes

La BPO propose des programmes culturels, des programmes de création et des programmes de littératie pour aider la clientèle à explorer la profondeur et la diversité des ressources de sa collection. Elle tient aussi des événements qui rassemblent les gens, éveillent la curiosité et répondent à divers besoins dans la communauté. Consultez la liste des événements de la BPO.

Espaces 

La BPO donne à ses clients un accès à des aires définies, comme des espaces de lecture, des espaces pour s’asseoir, des aires de référence et des zones pour enfants, ados ou personnes âgées. Il y a aussi des espaces où la clientèle peut profiter de certaines collections, d’outils et d’ameublements. La BPO offre des outils et espaces de création, dont un fablab (l’Espace Imagine) et un labo de numérisation comportant des postes de montage de musique et de conversion de VHS.

Outils

La BPO offre de l’équipement et de la technologie utilisables sur place. Ces outils comprennent aussi des technologies incontournables du quotidien (comme des photocopieuses et des imprimantes) que de nouvelles technologies pour l’apprentissage et l’expérimentation. Les technologies de création du fablab de la BPO en sont un bel exemple : impression et modélisation 3D, taillage au laser, montage audiovisuel, écran vert et matériel vidéo, outils à main, appareils électroniques, tableau blanc mur-à-mur, et plus encore.

Faits amusants

  • La BPO a un secteur de service de 2 700 km²
  • La plus grande distance entre deux succursales est de 88 km, entre Vernon et Fitzroy Harbour
  • La BPO a été la première à offrir un réseau Wi-Fi accessible au public à Ottawa (en 2008), bien avant que Tim Hortons (2012) ou Starbucks (2010) l'ait introduit partout au Canada!
  • La collection de la salle Ottawa renferme plus de 1 200 cartes datant de 1856 à aujourd'hui
  • « Lire » un livre revêt plusieurs significations à la BPO : version imprimée, livre audio, livre numérique, livre en braille ou livre d'images
  • Treize de nos succursales se trouvent dans des édifices récréatifs municipaux ou à proximité:
    1. Beaverbrook (Centre récréatif Mlacak)
    2. Constance Bay (Centre récréatif Constance/Buckham's Bay)
    3. Cumberland (Centre récréatif Ray Friel)
    4. Fitzroy Harbour (Centre récréatif Fitzroy Harbour)
    5. Greenboro (Centre récréatif Greenboro)
    6. Greely (Centre communautaire de Greely)
    7. Gloucester nord (Piscine à vagues Splash)
    8. Metcalfe (Aréna Larry-Robinson et Centre communautaire Metcalfe)
    9. Osgoode (Aréna Stuart-Holmes et Centre communautaire Osgoode)
    10. Rockcliffe Park (Centre récréatif Rockcliffe Park)
    11. Ruth E. Dickinson (Centre sportif Walter Baker)
    12. St-Laurent (Complexe St-Laurent)
    13. Vanier (Centre récréatif Richelieu Vanier)