You are here

Mediaroom

Media

Contact us for interview requests or media inquiries

  • Thursday, February 15, 2024

    OTTAWA- With Freedom to Read Week coming up, Ottawa Public Library (OPL) has created a Book Sanctuary for challenged titles to underscore the importance of intellectual freedom. Starting...

  • Monday, February 12, 2024

    OTTAWA – For Ottawa Public Library (OPL), Freedom to Read Week, February 18 to 24, 2024, is an opportunity to underline the importance of free expression and the role of libraries in upholding the free and open exchange of lawful information and ideas in a democratic society. Freedom to Read...

  • Thursday, January 25, 2024

    Ottawa, ON - Come, be a part of the celebration, and join Ottawa Public Library (OPL) in honoring the legacy and impactful contributions of the Black community locally and worldwide. The Library is hosting events and has a diverse...

  • Thursday, January 18, 2024

    OTTAWA-  Are you ready to embark on an exhilarating journey of imagination?  

    Ottawa Public Library is calling all young writers to participate in the ...

  • Monday, January 15, 2024

    OTTAWA - Family Literacy Day, on Saturday, January 27, is a fixture in the calendar year at Ottawa Public Library (OPL) ever since its creation by ABC Life Literacy Canada in 1999. This year's theme, "Let’s have a family party," invites families to dive into a...

  • Tuesday, December 19, 2023

    As the end of another year approaches, Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is thrilled to unveil lists of most popular books, between January 1 and December 1, 2023. This year's lists feature several genres, from gripping thrillers to heartwarming tales...

  • Wednesday, December 6, 2023

    OTTAWA – City Council has approved the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) 2024 budget of $61.115M, which includes funding for operating and capital activities, an increase of $2.37M over 2023. 

    OPL Board Chair and Councillor for Orléans East-Cumberland ward Matthew Luloff said: "This...

  • Thursday, November 16, 2023

    Ottawa, ON — Get ready to embark on a magical journey as the Ottawa Children's Storytelling Festival returns from November 20th to 25th, 2023. This eagerly anticipated event that is organized by Ottawa Storytellers and Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is a celebration...

  • Thursday, October 26, 2023

    OTTAWA – Due to maintenance to the water line, the Main branch of Ottawa Public Library (120 Metcalfe) will be closed from Saturday, November 4 to Sunday, November 5 inclusively.   

    The branch will reopen...

  • Wednesday, October 18, 2023

    OTTAWA – All branches of Ottawa Public Library will be closed on Thursday, November 2, for OPL’s biennial employee forum and development session.

    Regular hours resume Friday, November 3. 

    OPL is a learning organization...

  • Tuesday, October 17, 2023

    This November, Ottawa Reads YA will feature three great authors of the Young Adult (YA) genre -- OPL is offering a mix of in-person events as well as virtual and hybrid events. Fellow YA literature fans and aspiring writers will get the chance to connect with top YA authors as well as...

  • Friday, October 6, 2023

    OTTAWA – Due to maintenance to the water line, the Main branch of Ottawa Public Library (120 Metcalfe) will be closed Saturday, October 14. 

    The Main branch will reopen Sunday, October 15 at 10 am.  

      ...
  • Thursday, September 28, 2023

    OTTAWA – Reaffirming its dedication to fostering informed, empowered, and engaged citizenship, Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is celebrating Library Month – October – with a vibrant month-long campaign centered on the theme of democracy and...

  • Tuesday, September 19, 2023

    OTTAWA — On Saturday, September 30, seven branches of Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will be open for the public to learn more about the impact of the residential school system, which an estimated 150,000 Indigenous children from across Canada...

  • Wednesday, September 13, 2023

    OTTAWA – The 2023 Ottawa Book Awards finalists lead readers through a voyage of moving poetry, poignant stories, captivating human drama, and engaging biographies. These works delve into significant historical eras, bringing fresh perspective to familiar...

  • Monday, August 28, 2023

    OTTAWA – With fall around the corner and new routines about to begin, hours at Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will return to full fall levels at all of its 33 branches starting Tuesday, September 5, 2023. Some OPL branches will offer ...

  • Thursday, June 22, 2023

    OTTAWA- A quick reminder that Sunday hours will be paused for the months of July and August and will return in September. 

    The last day to enjoy Library services on Sunday is June 25. 

    Sunday hours start up again on Sunday, September 10...

  • Monday, June 19, 2023

    Are you ready to embark on an unforgettable summer adventure? Get ready to buckle up because Teen Staycation is back!...

  • Monday, June 12, 2023

    OTTAWA- Love, diversity, and equality take center stage at Ottawa Public Library this June as we proudly present a series of vibrant programs that will captivate hearts and minds. Pride celebrations provide opportunities for our community to come together, share...

  • Wednesday, June 7, 2023

    Ottawa –Again this year, the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is organizing a season filled to the brim with free summer activities for kids in Ottawa. From July 3 to August 18, kids ...