You are here

Mediaroom

Media

Contact us for interview requests or media inquiries

Tuesday, July 19, 2022

La Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa (BPO) souhaite recueillir les commentaires des résidents, des détenteurs de carte et des intervenants de la bibliothèque afin de confirmer que son ébauche du Cadre sur les installations répond aux besoins de la communauté d'Ottawa.   

À cette fin, un sondage est disponible en ligne et en succursale, en anglais et en français, jusqu’au 15 septembre 2022.  

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

OTTAWA- Summer is here, and Ottawa Public Library is putting on a Teen Staycation program that will make even the haziest and laziest days of summer something to enjoy and remember for teens aged 13 to 18. 

Monday, June 20, 2022

June 20, 2022 –At an event today, Mayor Jim Watson, the Honourable Mona Fortier, President of the Treasury Board (on behalf of the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage), Coun

Thursday, June 16, 2022

OTTAWA- There's no doubt that our City has been through a lot the past year. But, regardless of the challenges, hundreds of Ottawa youth aged 9 to 18 answered the call to participate in the 2021–2022 Awesome Authors writing contest. 

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

OTTAWA-  A quick reminder that Sunday hours will be paused for the months of July and August and will return in September, as in previous years. 

The last Sunday to enjoy Library services is June 26. However, Sunday hours will return in the Fall on September 11. 

Monday, June 13, 2022

The days are getting longer. Summer is almost here and with it comes the TD Summer Reading Club (SRC); for children up to 12 years old.

Friday, June 10, 2022

OTTAWA – As many customers know, the Alta Vista branch entranceway has undergone several repairs in the past two years. As work began, the scope of the issue was larger than expected and will require more time to complete.

Wednesday, June 1, 2022

OTTAWATo honour National Indigenous History Month, Ottawa Public Library is offering unlimited eBook availability to the remarkable literary novel Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies during the month of June 2022.

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

OTTAWA – At the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) Board meeting on May 10, 2022, Chair Luloff announced that OPL Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Danielle McDonald is retiring in November 2022.

Friday, April 22, 2022

OTTAWA- The North Gloucester branch of Ottawa Public Library (2036 Oglivie) will offer modified services only from Tuesday, May 3rd  to Tuesday, May 31st  while upgrades and improvements are being completed.  

Wednesday, April 20, 2022

OTTAWA - The Canadian Mental Health Association’s Mental Health Week takes place at the beginning of May from May 2 to 8, 2022. 

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

OTTAWA – The Ottawa Public Library Board received the Library’s 2021 Annual Report yesterday.

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Starting Thursday, April 14, the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) invites families to enjoy a stroll through a whimsical StoryWalk® at OPL branches across the city, until mid-June. 

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

OTTAWA- Every year, on or around Hans Christian Andersen’s birthday (April 2), International Children’s Book Day is celebrated to inspire a love of reading and to call attention to children’s books.  

Thursday, March 17, 2022

OTTAWA – Starting Monday, March 21, Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will offer enhanced in-person services in branches.  

These enhanced services include: 

  • Chromebook loan periods and public computer bookings increased to two hours  

Friday, March 4, 2022

OTTAWA – The Rockcliffe Park branch of Ottawa Public Library (380 Springfield) will offer modified services only from Friday, March 18 to Thursday, March 24 while upgrades and improvements are being done to the furniture and facility.  

Monday, February 28, 2022

Take a deep breath, relax and let yourself unwind from schoolwork with OPL. Join us for the multiple programs offered by Ottawa Public Library as part of the March Break series specifically for teens ages 13 to18.  

Monday, February 28, 2022

OTTAWA - March Break is just around the corner! We are offering virtual, fun, educational, and free programs for children ages 4 to 12 from March 14 to March 18.  

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

OTTAWA - Ottawa Public Library’s Main branch (120 Metcalfe St.) will reopen on Wednesday, February 23, 2022 at 10 am.

Monday, February 21, 2022

OTTAWA – We are pleased to announce that Ottawa Public Library’s Rideau branch will return to regular service and hours on Tuesday, February 22, 2022.